NHD’s Robert P. Cummins is Appointed to the Maine Commission on Indigent Legal Services

Last week (June 2019), the Legislature approved all eight of Governor Mills’ nominations to the Maine Commission on Indigent Legal Services. The new Commissioners include: the Honorable Joshua A. Tardy of Newport; the Honorable Michael Carey of Lewiston; Robert C. LeBrasseur of Sabattus; Sarah A. Churchill of Windham; Mary J. Zmigrodski of Vassalboro; Robert P. Cummins of Portland; Robert W. Schneider Jr. of Wells; and the Honorable Roger J. Katz of Brunswick. Following legislation passed last year, the Commission was expanded from five to nine members and includes two non-voting members to be nominated from lists of names submitted by the Maine State Bar Association and the Maine Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers. There is currently one seat on the Commission that remains to be filled.

Bob Cummins joined the firm of NHD as “Of Counsel” in 2015 and practices in the area of civil litigation.