Marjerison Wins Acquittal

Following a closely watched trial and after ten hours of jury deliberations, Tom Marjerison secured an acquittal for his client, Faysal Kalayaf Manahe, on federal criminal charges alleging a Sherman Act violation for wage-fixing and no-poach hiring agreements.  This prosecution arose out of the Department of Justice’s initiative focusing on criminal prosecutions of alleged wage-fixing… Read more »

Law Court Declines to Expand Liability for Negligence, Negligent Infliction of Emotional Distress

In a recent decision with potentially far-reaching implications, the Maine Supreme Judicial Court accepted the argument made by Attorneys Matthew T. Mehalic and Trevor D. Savage and held that: (1) a plaintiff’s allegation of post-traumatic stress disorder (“PTSD”) did not constitute a “physical injury” for purposes of establishing a claim for general negligence; and (2)… Read more »

Chambers and Partners Recognition for NHD

Chambers and Partners recently ranked Norman, Hanson & DeTroy in Band 1 of law firms in the State of Maine.  Chambers and Partners is an independent research company operating across 200 jurisdictions delivering detailed rankings and insight into the world’s leading lawyers. Mark Lavoie was featured in Band 1 of all Litigation attorneys in the… Read more »

Another Land Use Victory for David Goldman

David Goldman chalked up another appellate win in Zappia v. Town of Old Orchard Beach.  The Law Court’s decision in Zappia promises to significantly shape the way in which local municipal land use officials are required to interpret zoning ordinances that restrict the way in which property owners make use of their own private property This… Read more »

John Veilleux Recognized as 2022 Lawyer of the Year in Personal Injury Law

Norman, Hanson & DeTroy is proud to announce that Best Lawyers recognized John Veilleux as its 2022 Lawyer of the Year in the practice area of personal injury law – defense.  John was also highlighted in the 28th Edition of The Best Lawyers in America for his high caliber work in the practice area of insurance law.

Kelly Hoffman Settles Landmark Case for Colby Coaches

Norman, Hanson & DeTroy is proud to announce Kelly Hoffman’s settlement of a landmark Title VII and Title IX Discrimination case brought by 5 of the 7 female head coaches at Colby College.  Federal and Maine equal pay laws mandate that employers may not discriminate between employees on the basis of their gender by paying… Read more »

David Very Wins Award of Attorney Fees to Insurer before Law Court

In a decision issued today in Fortney & Weygandt, Inc. v. Lewiston DMEP, et al., 2022 ME 5, the Maine Law Court upheld the award of over $300,000 in attorney fees to Travelers Insurance Company for successfully defending counter-claims against its insured in an action initiated by its insured under Maine’s prompt payment statute. David… Read more »

Lindsey Sands Confirmed as Adminstrative Law Judge

We are pleased and proud to announce that our colleague and friend, Attorney Lindsey Sands, was unanimously appointed to serve as an Administrative Law Judge by the Workers’ Compensation Board for the State of Maine. Lindsey spent her entire private practice career here at Norman, Hanson & DeTroy, and leaves a lasting legacy of hard… Read more »

Isobel Golden Returns to NHD

Norman, Hanson & DeTroy is pleased to announce that Isobel Golden, a former Summer Associate, has returned to the firm as an Attorney.  Isobel will be practicing with the firm’s professional services practice group, focusing on medical malpractice and professional liability defense. During her tenure at the University of Maine School of Law, Isobel served… Read more »

Landgon Thaxter Joins the Firm

Norman, Hanson & DeTroy is pleased to announce that Langdon Thaxter has joined the firm as an associate attorney in our Commercial Group. Langdon is a Maine native who grew up in Portland. He attended Bard College in New York State, where he majored in philosophy with a focus on the philosophy of language. After… Read more »